What exactly happened here?

Hi! I am a complete newbie with WebODM. I created this ortho using all default settings within WebODM, from images captured using DroneDeploy with a Mavic 2 Pro. If you zoom in on the roof that doesn’t have HVAC installed yet, you can clearly see what the issue is, but I have no idea how to explain (or solve) the problem. Any ideas? I would just experiment with settings, but there are SO many, I wouldn’t know where to even begin.

TIA

1 Like

start with the simple stuff, verify you have plenty of overlap in your images. check your images after capturing to make sure none are blurry from motion of out of focus. The roof to the right has the package units on the roof that ODM can use as keypoints to tie together while the left does not. once image overlap is verified to be sufficient I would try to increase the feature quality and increase min-num-features above the default. also a double grid flight pattern may help as well.

3 Likes

I’m not sure how to technically verify the overlap, but I know there were no missing images or anything. I do know that I set overlap to 85/80 to be on the safe side, so I doubt it’s that… I can’t see any blur, either. I’ll try again adjusting those settings you suggested. I’ll probably need more batteries if I am going to fly double-grid, though. So, hopefully that’s not necessary. Thanks!

Look through the sequence of images, you should be able to see the same feature on 4 consecutive images. If you set it in DD, that’s unlikely to be the problem.

As uplanddog suggests, increasing feature quality would be the first thing to try, ultra is best in situations like this with repeating patterns.
Depending on how much RAM your system has, out of memory errors are possible if it is a large dataset.

2 Likes

I had a feeling it might be a repeat pattern issue because it didn’t show up where the image was busy. I’ll definitely bump up the feature quality. Thanks for the explanation!

1 Like