Typical processing speed on large datasets (>500 images)?

Hi Everyone,

First, I know processing speeds will vary wildly based on hardware but just wanted to share my experience and ask if it was typical/expected or if I possibly have a configuration issue (I’m new to running my own physical server).

I have a Dell r710 with an Intel Xeon 5650@ 2.67ghz and 64 gb ram. I’m running ProxMox and I’ve setup a Ubuntu 18.04 VM with 48 gb of ram and all the cpu power allocated to it. I’ve installed WebODM via the docker image.

I’m processing a 644 image dataset on High Resolution and it’s been running for over 16 hours. Is this normal or expected to take this long to process? For reference, I ran the same dataset on an r5.xlarge AWS instance (32 gb ram, Intel® Xeon® Platinum 8175M CPU @ 2.50GHz ) and it took 4.5 hours to process the dataset.

Is my machine this much slower? I know the CPU on the AWS instance is much more powerful and also has an SSD but I guess I wasn’t expecting it to be this much slower.

The dataset I’m processing can be found here. It’s the Back 9 dataset.

Thanks!

2 Likes

We’re just starting to collect benchmark info (see this page) to answer questions like this. But it’s still pretty early days. We should have some larger datasets up in a couple of weeks but at the moment there’s only one result up at >500 images.

It took ~7 hours for me to run the “Zoo” dataset (524 images, linked above) on a decent-but-not-new laptop with default settings and letting WebODM resize the photos to 2048px before processing. I have noticed that removing the resize can triple my processing time, or more.

So all in all… 16 hours on the High Resolution config may not be excessive, if you’re not downsizing the images first. (Are you?)

1 Like