Trying to understand settings and GSD of outputs

Hello,

I’m new to ODM and this is my first post. So first off Hello, and looking forward to being part of the community.

This post is exclusively referring to WebODM.

My issue is that I am not getting expected GSD results for my orthophoto based on my WebODM setting. The attached table is a synopsis of each run (all on the same imagery set) and maybe someone can help me understand where I’m misinterpreting my settings.

I’m using a Pix4d run as the base line where the orthophoto GSD was 3.17cm. The “Ignore-GSD” is slightly ambiguous to me. The way I’m understanding it is that if it is checked, it ignores the internal calculation of GSD and uses a user supplied GSD or the default of 5cm if not specified. If it is not checked it will internally calculate the average GSD which will then be reflected in the output orthophoto. With this understanding, I anticipated that not checking the “Ignore-GSD” setting would yield as GSD somewhere near ~3.17cm. However, when I use the “Default” template and run it without touching any settings and then do a new run only changing the “ignore-gsd” to checked it yields identical results.

Another bi-product issue I noticed was that if I download “All Assets” and unzip it the resolution of my orthophoto is different (closer to expected value) than if I download orthophoto alone (See spreadsheet for numbers).

Could someone please help steer me in the right direction? The biggest thing I’m looking for is ODM’s ability to get the GSD close to the anticipated value without me having to rely on prior knowledge (Pix4d results) and supplying it!

Thanks!

ODM_Results

Welcome to the community! :hand: