ODM for coastal erosion control in West Africa

We are experimenting with erosion control techniques on sandy coasts in Senegal. We use ODM to take stock of the foreshore situation before, after the work.
we explore the possibilities of ODM to represent the shapes and the vomits of sediments, their displacement in order to improve the works we build.
We would like to exchange on the best way to manage the flights, to capture images and to produce the 2D and 3D images.

3 Likes

Welcome!

Sounds like fascinating and important work!

Why don’t you start by telling us how you currently do things and maybe folks will have some ideas that may help!

Thanks Saijin, I am preparing a mission on the island we have already worked. I am a beginner in ODM. I have installed it on my PC, that was not so easy… and I am now looking for information about flight planning… How to automatize the flight and obtained correct overlapping views. The beach are rather flat, no buildings, but trees… Th purpose is to represent the sand… So I suppose it is simpler than architecture which requires 45° views…

1 Like

See these four blogs by Stephen Mather (smathermather-cm) for some great guidance on flight planning:

Also, depending upon your sUAS platform, there may be a bunch of different Flight Planning apps that may help you as well.

As SUAS platform I will choose DJI Air 2S which is less expensive but with a good camera and using gallileo satellite for the GPS

Self calibration OK . But how to pilot the drone so that the pictures cover the right zone. Is there Ă  programme like the one in Drone deploy whiche automatize the flight plan ?

Until DJI releases the SDK supporting the Air 2S, no waypoint/survey capability in anything outside of the DJI app (which as far as I know does not support mission planning for this platform).

Capturing manually is incredibly difficult. If this is what you plan to do, I would advise you to select a different sUAS.