New To Mapping With Drone. Scale On A Map

I am retired and have been thinking about getting my Part 107 equivalent (Already an instrument rated pilot) and doing part-time work with drones. I find flying them enjoyable and relaxing.

I recently purchased an E2P and fell into a project to make a map using a trial of DroneDeploy. It is certainly a good site but I can’t justify the cost while I am just learning and I heard about this.

I assume the easiest way to get the program for a PC is to pay for the Windows installer which would serve as a donation to the project as well.

I want to create a map of an area that I already shot with the E2P. Is 80 percent front and 75 side overlap for an area with grass and trees appropriate? (Nadir gimbal)

I don’t need the kind of accuracy necessitating ground control points. But, what I would like to know is how to include a scale in feet on my map?

1 Like

Welcome to the ODM community Andrew :slight_smile:

The metric and imperial scales are at the lower left on the orthophoto, DSM and DTM

So, they are automatically placed during processing. What is the best way to learn how to use the software? Is there a YouTube channel or videos?

I gather one can do quite a lot with the software… 2D, 3D, and point clouds.

Yes, the scale is placed there automatically. So long as your GPS errors are reasonable, it will be quite close to reality. You can check the Quality Report to see how the absolute and relative errors look.

The Missing Guide goes into a lot of detail about the various parameters for processing

It’s always good to start off using the default values, and progress from there.

Also, if you are having difficulties, ask here on the forum.

2 Likes

I did my first map. For some reason, it did not come out as a rectangle. How can I crop it? How can I turn it into a pdf with a scale that I can give to someone else? The tiff has no scale. I can crop the tiff in PS. There is another tiff file which I can’t seem to open in PS.