Mavic Air 2 - WebODM - Blender - Sketchfab

I am a watershed restoration manager working on helping communities visualize the change that can take place from these projects. 3D pre/post models are huge for this.

My current workflow is a Mavic Air 2 with Dronelink to map. WebODM desktop to model. Blender to post process and create the pre/post restoration visualizations and then Sketchfab to host.

I am trying to find people working on similar apps or workflow that could help me step up my game.

My current sticking point is really getting the best out of my drone and processing the highest quality model with the WebODM set-up that I have. I am really cost prohibited.

I have issues with each step thought for sure. First few that come to mind:

MA2 can take 48MP pics but I think they are compositive 12MP and get stripped of meta data to make them plus possibly need to upgrade to next paywall level to turn on that function in Dronelink.

Gaps around trees in 3D model - can i reduce these and/or remove these by adjusting a setting in WebODM ( i fly my grids with 80% overlay front/back and side/side at 45% camera angle)

So many Blender questions but top of mind - how do I bake materials onto polys to reduce total file size.

Any advice or guidance would be appreciated

Santa Margarita River - Existing Conditions by RiverSonicRun on Sketchfab

Sandia Creek Drive - New Bridge by RiverSonicRun on Sketchfab

2 Likes

Blender: I would like to learn how to re-texture my files to reduce the size if, for instance, I have deleted extraneous material in the mesh.