Mavic Air 2 compatability

What is the compatability of the Mavic Air 2 with open drone map? Is it capable of doing stockpile estimations by itself, or is some sort of correction data necessary?

1 Like

Welcome!

OpenDroneMap isn’t a flight planner (yet?), so on light of that, I’m going to be answering a slightly different question than what you asked.

If you have a flight plan with sufficient sidelap and overlap, OpenDroneMap will absolutely stitch your collected pictures into usable data.

As for stockpile analysis, having GCPs will help a ton with Z accuracy, which is critical for volumetric analysis.

I personally don’t do analysis within WebODM (I use QGIS out of habit/convenience for me), so I can’t speak to the volumetric analysis workflow within WebODM except that it does exist.

If you can, show us what you are working on!

Yeah, that is what I meant. I am somewhat new to this whole world, and so would the gcps also need gps data associated with them? And how would a GCP on the ground help with z accuracy? would you have a set height of the gps module?

New is good because I think this all is a load of fun, but there is a not insignificant learning curve ahead, haha. Buckle up!

Yes, GCPs are both in your imagery (ideally) as well as surveyed point data. If you’re marking them, go big. Less headaches later. If you can’t mark, make sure you pick easily distinguishable features from the sky.

Yes, most times you’ll need to compensate for the height of the GPS module. Many have an adjustment in the menus somewhere for exactly this, oftentimes tied to a particular part-number/model of pole/mount. If not, you can usually set an offset. Failing that, your waist is usually about 3ft off the ground or so and you can manually offset the values later (or you can measure boot sole to belt-buckle and get your true offset, and just hold the GPS module exactly at your belt for each point collection).