Mapping with crap GPS

Mapping newbie here, for a while now I’ve been fascinated by OpenDroneMap and its capabilities, but I’ve suddenly realized I’ve missed an important part of mapping.

This whole time I’ve been using a DJI Mavic 2 Pro drone, thinking all was well. But then I learned about RTK/PPK GPS and realized the consumer-grade GPS in my Mavic wasn’t up to the task.

So that explains why my orthophotos come out riddled with artifacts and stitching errors, and possibly why the trees look like green, space-warping blobs.

Eventually I’ll have to spend my hard earned money on some GCPs and an RTK GPS device, but in the meantime are there any settings in OpenDroneMap that allow it to work better with cheap/inaccurate GPS?

I’ve noticed MICMACNode handles these jobs better, producing larger but less frequent errors that I can usually clean up in Photoshop (it’s fine, I’m not interested in doing survey-accurate work just yet). Nonetheless, are there settings for MICMACNode that might also improve things?

I’ve tried skipping the geotagging altogether by stitching the photos together using Photoshop, but with so many large photos and so much detail I need a bank of supercomputers to achieve this. Is there a QGIS plugin that might work better?

1 Like

For naive stitching I have found Microsoft Image Composite Editor to be incredibly competent.

I’d be surprised if your GPS was causing your reconstruction issues, unless you were routinely getting inaccuracies of like, 100m+

RTK/PPK and such are amazing, but I wouldn’t want you putting money on something that may not get you what you think it will. Their value in this is more about ensuring the reconstruction is quite literally well grounded and where it ought to be in the world.

What’s your flight planning looking like?

1 Like

Sweet! I’ll see if I can find a copy of Microsoft ICE but it seems to have been deprecated.