I cant get past "Not enough memory" errors with 64 gigs at 470 images

I am new to web odm, I started with a run of 320, 20 Mp images on 32 gigs of ram and everything went perfectly, I ran it multiple times on max settings (PC ultra, features ultra, brute forces, classify pc etc. Then I tried a batch of 469 images and ran out of memory, so I upgraded to 64 gigs of ram, same problem. If I don’t split the task I get an "out of memory error at about the 42 second mark. If I turn max concurrency to half of my cores (10/20) and split into 100 images with a buffer of 50, it will run for a few hours before a I get an out of memory error. I even tried splitting it into smaller chunks of 25 images and only 5 cores and it either runs out of memory or completely stalls out with CPU usage going to zero and no progress being made after 30 hours. Based on the claim that memory usage scales linearly with the number of images, 64 gigs should be enough, and even if it isn’t splitting it down into sets of 25 images should work. My task manager shows full memory utilization by ODM also.
The report from my last run and images are in the link.
(Sign in to your account)

1 Like

Welcome!

Please never use --ignore-gsd, which quite commonly causes Out-Of-Memory errors and other issues.

Also, please try appending --auto-boundary to make sure the reconstruction boundaries are kept more close to the data-dense parts of the reconstruction.

Finally, how are you running WebODM? Docker? Native?

1 Like

Im running ODM in docker, it looks like docker has full access to my machines memory based on activity monitor.

1 Like

Do you have a decent-sized swap volume setup as well?

2-4x physical RAM is usually a nice buffer for larger projects (1,000+ images).

I’m 32GB RAM + 120GB SWAP locally, for instance.

1 Like

This. I had 72GB of RAM assigned to my VM and still had issues. I added a swap to match that and I can run about 1k images with no memory error.

2 Likes