Georeference odm with LiDAR

I was curious if it is possible to use a LiDAR derived point cloud or DEM (dtm, dsm) to help augment the ODM process? I’m still fairly new to ODM in general, but seems like the mvs and dem stages are fairly heavy processes.

This topic might be a bit philosophical or even theoretical… but co-collected direct referenced imagery + LiDAR is becoming more of a commonplace practice for UAV and manned acquisition alike. All these systems are tightly coupled and boresighted/calibrated pretty exhaustively.

Lastly, it is my understanding that ODM only produces DSM based orthophotos (true orthos)? Or is there a way to generate non-true DTM orthos as well?

My apologies if this is a topic previously discussed, but my searches didn’t pull up much. Thanks!

2 Likes

Hi!

I am sorry not to provide you with a solution, but I am working with the exact same issue.

My current workflow is using Pix4D, which support importing a point cloud for DSM generation. I still need to run the calibration steps for camera position (makes sense as even with great IMU and RTK gnss, the camera positions will not match 100%). (I import image position and orientation to Pix4D, but I believe ODM also supports this now). My processing time is reduced to 1/3 (or less, depending on level of densification) of traditional.

that makes sense… we use Correlator in the same way you described Pix4d. We can import a DTM or point cloud into Correlator and this makes ortho generation very quick. We use direct georeferencing because we are using corrected PPK EO with omega-phi-kappa.

This workflow works great if the goal is simply a 2D product. Obviously Correlator and Pix4d are much more limited in other ways, hence the attraction to ODM. But currently Correlator is orders of magnitude faster unfortunately.