GCP Question

I am a newbie to WebODM and am having problems using GCPs. I can create an orthophoto mosaic no problem, but when I try to add CGPs (to correct its location by 20 m) it fails. I am using 21 images in one line of flying and have created 6 GCPs using the GCP tab in WebODM. Do I need to create GCPs for every image? Any toughts? I am using a DJI Mavic mini 2.

GCP(ground control points) are usually laid out before the flight. You measure them with gnss or a total station and then afterwords before any processing you make a file that say where, in every image, they are. Then you process everything.

You can of course, if you just want to geo reference an ortophoto, turn it and scale it to fit in the right place. But I would use QGis for that, it’s very good at georeferencing any type of image.

Welcome!

Sorry you’re having a bit of trouble.

No, not every image. 3-5 images per GCP is usually sufficient.

Can you paste the content of your GCP file and post a link to your data on somewhere like dronedb.app?

Hi Andreas and Saijin, I use QGIS as my main GIS program so I can move it by using the freehand georeferencer but I thought I would experiment with creating the gcp file to correct its location. I used trees and bushes that I could identify in the GCP tab using the Google Earth satellite image. Do I need better reference points other than trees?

1 Like

Trees are tricky as finding their centroid can be difficult from imagery, and using Google Earth as a source of truth data is kind of fraught with difficulty as their horizontal error is typically 3-10m and vertical is somewhere around there.

“Immutable” things that are easily recognizable are better, like a corner of a building, sidewalk, etc if they are in the environment.

If not, then yes, whatever the most prominent feature is will be your best bet.

If possible, however, you should consider collecting ground-truth data as your GCPs because of the limitations of Google Earth.