Extracting DEM and Orthophotos from 1950's aerial photos

Hi,
I am new to OpenDroneMap but have lots of experience in GIS and LiDAR, RS… I have installed WebODM on Windows and got it to work. Still not sure about that Docker thing… but it runs!

I need to make orthophotos from 30 1950’s aerial photographies. All I have as metadata is 9 inch BW film, 152.4 focal Length lens at 20 000 feet. 60% overlap and about 30% sidelap. Scans are at 1200 dpi so film grain is obvious. Scenes are not georeferenced but this is something I could do with geotiffs. Should I spend time doing that or should I add GCP files instead? Should I consider using a high pass filter to make things easier for the software? All I have is trees, rivers and lakes so there are no clear easy targets to help with the image automatique corregistration.

I am wondering if there is documentation, site, ressources… out there that could help out with this type of image processing? Would I find something in the “Missing Guide”? Any tips would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Nicolas

1 Like

Welcome, Nicolas!

This is a workflow others have worked with a few times here as well.

This blog post should be a great starting point for you:

Thanks,
I will look at it!
Cheers

Nicolas

1 Like

Let us know how you get on. We’ll do our best to help out :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi,
If I understand properly, the script is used to add georeferencing data to the files. Then, you used OpenDroneMap to do the rest. I don’t see any info on the processing in OpenDroneMap. Am I looking at the wrong place?

Anyways, when running a Default Fast Orthophoto, I get: [ERROR] Uh oh! Processing stopped because of strange values in the reconstruction. This is often a sign that the input data has some issues or the software cannot deal with it. Have you followed best practices for data acquisition? See Flying Tips — OpenDroneMap 2.6.7 documentation