3D printing cool scenes

Well, you know it’s been a busy few years when I’ve had a 3D printer for over a year and I am finally getting to printing a real live thing from OpenDroneMap. I have taken other people’s 3D models, spun them around in a browser and printed the results (gorilla skulls, rat skulls and the like). But today, I want to focus on a real object.

We’ve had folx show up on this forum now and then interested in printing their models. I am no expert at this process, but I have worked through the minimum steps for getting it done.

(Also, trigger warning for software purists, there is free but closed source software in the workflow. More on that later…)

Now that I’m working at Oberlin College and Conservatory, I’ve been taken by the beauty of campus, especially the older classic buildings. The Conservatory is in some of the newer buildings on campus, but has this cool facade (from an older building maybe?) that is at ground level, that includes this face:

I decided to experiment with creating a 3D model of this which turned out nicely derived from a couple dozen pictures in converging and diverging formation:

(Thanks to some floating point issues, we see some discretization of the point cloud, but this isn’t a problem for us today).

The mesh looks even nicer:

I really appreciate when the model almost looks more real the original object. But, unfortunately, this isn’t printable in its current form. For one thing, it’s not solid! Fortunately we get a water tight model earlier in the process, and today, we don’t care about the texturing.

If we have WebODM set up via docker with a mount drive like I describe here: Combining Drone and 360° Photos with WebODM - #5 by smathermather, then we can access the mesh we need from earlier in the process. Inside our project directory, inside odm_meshing, there is a file called odm_mesh.ply. This will do the trick for us! Looking at this in meshlab, it’s close to what we need: