Changes in plugin files not showing

Hi everyone!
I am trying to add a plugin to the 2D map. The idea is to use the surface model to recognize the different areas of a field according to their trees’ height. When I make it work I would love to add it to WebODM through a PR :smile:

So far I was able to copy the measurement plugin, but I can’t modify any of it, nor the original one. Neither the text nor the icon.

I am not a web expert, so I apologize if it’s a silly question: I realized that in order to see the changes I make in the dashboard I need to run:

./devenv.sh start

But I don’t know how to see the changes I make in the plugins (it has something to do with webpack I think?)

TL;DR: How do I see in the browser the changes I make in the plugin’s js and scss files?

Thank you very much in advance!

Hey @julianpalladino that sounds like a cool plugin.

Currently, WebODM rebuilds a plugin SCSS/JS files (with webpack) at container startup (when the container is created). Also the plugin is loaded only when WebODM is restarted. So if you run ./devenv.sh start before you created the plugin, the plugin will not show up until you restart the enviroment (./devenv.sh stop && ./devenv.sh start). This will load the plugin, but will not automatically rebuild the SCSS/JS files with webpack (we should probably improve on that, I’ve opened a task to track this: https://github.com/OpenDroneMap/WebODM/issues/503)

Currently I like to simply start a bash console in the running container via:

docker exec -ti $(docker ps -q --filter "name=webapp") bash

Then from the container navigate to the plugin directory and run a webpack --watch task:

cd /webodm/plugins/myplugin/public
webpack --watch

Now changes should be reflected without needing to teardown the container every time.

I suppose this should be improved. :slight_smile:

Hi @pierotofy, thank you so much! It works now. You’re the best! :smile: